AVADirect Custom Computers Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Support Forums > Help Desk
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

780i video corruption

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Ekard View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 17
  Quote Ekard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 780i video corruption
    Posted: 11 May 2008 at 11:28pm
I am having this now well known issue. No need to write out something long everything I am having is in those 50 pages. http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=253891&mpage=1&key=  I want to try to get another motherboard maybe intel or amd chipset not being able to watch a movie or play a game without this corruption is crap. Its not video card related I tried 3 cards. The damn board is just garbage period.

Edited by Ekard - 11 May 2008 at 11:30pm
Back to Top
memoryleak View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 10
  Quote memoryleak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2008 at 10:18am
I read through that forum link and while I see where some folks are having trouble but the complaints seem all over the map and the thread is 33 pages FWIW. Did you have the machine built at AVA (and have you contacted them), or are you just chewing on sour grapes?. I am not trying to be negative because I configured my purchase with the EVGA 780 mobo (it's still in processing stage att) and if this is valid complaint, I'd like AVA to change the MB befor ethe build gets started.
Back to Top
cmundy View Drop Down
AVADirect Staff
AVADirect Staff
Avatar
AVADirect Support

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Location: AVADirect
Posts: 57
  Quote cmundy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2008 at 11:34am
Originally posted by Ekard

I am having this now well known issue. No need to write out something long everything I am having is in those 50 pages. http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=253891&mpage=1&key=  I want to try to get another motherboard maybe intel or amd chipset not being able to watch a movie or play a game without this corruption is crap. Its not video card related I tried 3 cards. The damn board is just garbage period.
 
Hello Everyone,
Very interesting post on Evga's forum.  This is the first time I have heard of this issue.  We sell hundreds of 700 chipset motherboards a month and not once have I had a customer experience this problem.  It is possible it's just a common problem that occurs when these 700 series motherboards  become defective. 
 
Ekard, I have been speaking with you already about this problem on your account message board.  You could have a defective motherboard and I suggest you contacting support@avadirect.com to obtain an RMA so we can check the system out here and then make a decision about replacing the motherboard with something else if we need to.
 
Thank You Big%20smile
Chris Mundy
AVADirect
Director of Technical Support
216-503-6371 Direct
Back to Top
Ekard View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 17
  Quote Ekard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2008 at 1:05pm
Memoryleak do yourself a big favor and don't touch this thing with a ten foot pole. Avoid the 700 series chipset at all costs. Get anything else and yes I did buy it from ava. I can reproduce this bug at will with just episodes of smallville and mythbusters. It takes 20 instances of video corruptions and forced reboots to just finish the eps. It started doing it while I was playing wow the other day aand thats where its going to end for me. If I put my old radeon x700 it will reduce it to maybe once a day but using an old card is unacceptable. I'm on my second hd 3870 card now and its not broken or defective its the damn chipset on the motherboard. All the reports in that thread match exactly what problems I experience right down to the picture on the first page. Maybe I would of spotted it sooner but I was placing blame on video card drivers just being crap in which case all you can do is wait for new ones. I have had a total of 4 cards now in this pc 9600gt,x700,hd 3870 and replaced hd 3870 all show this problem minus the 9600gt I sent it back do to no overlay support and I never used it enough  to confirm this happens on it.
Back to Top
CTT3 View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 9
  Quote CTT3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2008 at 10:30pm
This whole thing is so hit and miss...my girlfriend just purchased a rig with the evga 780i board & 2 8800gt cards about a month ago and hasn't had a single issue.
 
Hope you get this resolved Ekard.
Back to Top
Ekard View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 17
  Quote Ekard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2008 at 6:17am
This issue is just so odd its mind boggling.  If I play anime of any sort I am almost guaranteed to not have any problems but if I play a game or watch anything else this has 100% odds to occur. I can even force it to do it. Like if play the top file from here http://www.eztv.it/index.php?main=show&id=108 the one named alaskan special right after jamie writes out his own constitution till the end I am guaranteed corruption lock up and BSODs.

Changing drivers from official ones to omega drivers won't help much. Using xp instead of vista won't help it either I put xp on it as dual boot. It will happen in xp just less often though. Changing bios settings like the hpet one pcie spread spectrum or uping pcie mhz from 100-110 is negligible. From what I have uncovered since I discovered it was a chipset issue and not a videocard defect or bad driver is most people are thinking its a hardware flaw in the board itself and won't be fixable with a new bios or driver.  As I see it the only reliable way to permanently get rid of this problem is to get rid of the board  and get something that works that isn't based on this failed design.
Back to Top
memoryleak View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 10
  Quote memoryleak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2008 at 3:43pm
Here's an update now that I've had my EVGA 780i a couple/three weeks.
I was able to duplcate the issues that Ekard had brought forward. Playing vids using Windows Media Player will cause a pastel "easter egg"  pattern in the video that makes it unwatchable. Also have seen the two vertical green stripes in WMP as well.
Also, lose a "clean" display of mouse cursor also. Need to reboot PC to get back to normal.
HOWEVER, cannot  duplicate when I play same vid files in using NERO 7 Essentials or WINAMP. I recently decide to start use the "WATCH NOW" free service at NETFLIX which requires WMP as well as some viewer software from NETFLIX. Watched about five minutes of a movie before the screen went to all green dashes, sound was still fine though.
Had to ALT-f4 to get back to desktop, mouse cursor was all funky, clicked on "START" button and screen went all green snow which required a soft reboot. I find it diificult to believe that AVA has not heard about this problem. Ekard, should have listened to you, sorry for doubting you.
Odd that I can play Company of Heroes for hours and not have a single problem ! Unhappy
Back to Top
spector27 View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 14
  Quote spector27 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2008 at 12:07pm
saw this on another site - these are links to the bios updates to fix the video issues. 

A BIOS update has been released to correct this issue. Check with your motherboard's manufacturer.

EVGA 780i - http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=391088
EVGA 790i - http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=374007
EVGA 750i - http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=385894

XFX 790i - http://www.xfxsupportb.co.uk/790i_P05_XFX.zip
XFX 780i - http://www.xfxsupportb.co.uk/780i_P05_XFX.zip

ASUS also have new bios update as well, but no link :)


here is direct link to wher ei got them http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=65855&st=160




Edited by spector27 - 17 Jun 2008 at 12:08pm
Back to Top
Ekard View Drop Down
AVADirect Noob
AVADirect Noob
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 17
  Quote Ekard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2008 at 5:12pm
Those new Bios only postpone the Inevitable... 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.015 seconds.